A FAITH THROUGH THE DARKEST STORM: Woman Loses Two Sons In Arkansas Tornados And Shows Us Without God There Is No Hope

Posted: May 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Arkansas tornado victim April Smith (Jessica Sowards)

SCROLL DOWN FOR NEWS LINKS AND VIDEOS:  On April 27, a system of deadly tornadoes ripped through Arkansas that left a path of death and destruction. In the midst of that storm lives were broken and changed. Out of the darkness of that storm has come a glimmer of light. Thanks to a blog post written by Jessica Lane Sowards, the world is learning about the lives of two victims that died on that tragic day and the strength of a mother who believes that they are in better hands. When tragedy hits we always ask the question, why does God make us suffer? Where is he in the midst of all our sorrows and pains? The question we need to be answering is, Who Are We to ask Him that? His ways are higher than ours. Isaiah 55: 8-11 “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. 9 For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. 10 “The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. 11 It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it. Years ago, a preacher prophesied that April Smith would one day bring “hundreds and thousands of people” to Christ. The woman wrote those words down in her Bible and, very simply, believed.

A video that was done about April Smiths Faith and how she came to Christ. This Video was uploaded May 09, 2013

They believe that the boys had a purpose on this world. How can you explain the fact that Tyler and Cameron knew Jesus? Only a couple of weeks ago, they led a friend to Christ.  Their purpose was rooted from the love of a savior. Tyler must have known his time on Earth was near hours before the tornado hit. He asked his mom a persistent question about missing him if he went to heaven.  [Tyler has always talked about heaven. About how he can’t wait to get there. She said she thought it was because he heard them saying how wonderful it would be…some day. But he looked at her Sunday afternoon, before the storm, and told her he was ready to go to heaven. “Will you miss me?” he asked her. “Well yes,” she said, “but let’s not talk like that now.” “How long will you miss me?” he persisted. And she just smiled and said, “I guess until I see you again.”} . The boy’s  bodies were found by a family friend. In the midst of this tragedy April believed that GOD was good. SHe never once blamed him for what happened to her children. She said, ‘I’m going to miss them so bad, but I know that they’re OK. I don’t understand this, but I trust God.’ Her trust in God and the promise that he made on the cross is what gives us believers hope in our darkest hours. God is the light that shines in the middle of the darkness. He sent his son to die for you and me so that we may be forgiven and have every lasting life. That is the promise that April believes in for herself and her children, knowing that someday she will see them again. Their story hasn’t reached the end and is impacting people as I write this. It is a story written long ago from eternity. It is a story of love and forgiveness. This is why we cling to that rugged cross. April Smith asked her friend Jessica to ‘Show them now,’. “Show them what my God can overcome. Show them now.’ Her inspiration and the lives of her sons are showing the world the love and hope that we have in Jesus Christ.

 

If you have been inspired by this story and would love to give your life to Jesus Christ, would you please say this prayer to be transformed and Forgiven?

Dear Lord

I know that I am a sinner.  I repent of all my sins and ask that you forgive me. Jesus is my propitiation for my sins, and the sins of the whole world. By grace and through faith I am saved. You gave your only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. That if I received and believed in his name, that I would become a child of God.  Jesus is the way, and the truth, and the life. I cannot go through  the Father except through Jesus. Accept me as a humble servant to your cause. Help me to carry your cross. Let me see the world through your eyes and hurt the way you hurt for the world. I ask in Jesus name. AMEN

HELD- NATALIE GRANT

 

THEHODGEPODGEDARLING.BLOGSPOT.COM:  I’ve never really been afraid of tornadoes. You see, I’m an Arkansas girl, born and raised. I remember the thrilling nights as a kid when my mother pulled us from our beds and we’d spend what seemed like all night giggling under a mattress in the hall with flashlights and teddy bears. It was fun.

And I’ve seen the aftermath, the piles of rubble, the death counts on the news. But you see, I’m an optimist. And all these things I have seen from an emotional distance. So the prevailing theme to them all is the hope that humans are able to cling to, the stories of survival. So I’ve never really been afraid of tornadoes.So on Sunday, April 27, when the weather man said the forecast was a mix for disaster, we decided we’d go ahead with our move to Vilonia anyway. We already had the UHaul. The house was in boxes. The helping hands had signed up. Our new house has a concrete basement. We’ll be safe, we thought.We were.While 20 people ate hot dogs and potato salad in the basement, the wall cloud blew over our mountain to the valley beyond it. The TV showed the eye of the storm directly over Cody Ln. And I stood on the front porch and saw the sucking black sky twirl in the distance READ MORE: http://thehodgepodgedarling.blogspot.com/2014/04/the-cheerleader.html?m=1

 

DAILY MAIL ONLINE:  A mother who lost her two young sons and her entire house in last weekends Arkansas tornado says she still believes that God is ‘good’.

Daniel and April Smith moved to Vilonia, Arkansas with their two young boys last fall, but last Sunday their beautiful life was rip apart as third-grader Cameron and first-grader Tyler Smith, were killed when the tornado destroyed the family’s home.

Their parents Daniel and April Smith were seriously injured.

The whole family were sheltering beneath a mattress in a bathtub last Sunday evening when the violent twister obliterated their home READ MORE: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2619451/Mom-lost-two-kids-Arkansas-Tornado-touching-message-hope-wins-hearts.html#ixzz30hldEr3L

YAHOO.COM: The focus of Jessica Sowards’ portraits are usually warm fuzzies — baby bumps, birthdays and other family milestones.

So it was with great irony and pain this week that the Arkansas photographer snapped the saddest image her lens has ever captured.

The photo is of her close friend April Smith lying in a hospital bed. Smith’s face is swollen and battered. Two broken legs and a fractured pelvis will keep her from walking for months

Daniel and April Smith lost sons Cameron, 9, and Tyler, 7, when the tornado hit Vilonia, Ark.

But even worse, the tornado also claimed the lives of her two children, 9-year-old Cameron and 7-year-old Tyler READ MORE: http://news.yahoo.com/arkansas-tornado-victims-message-of-hope-in-the-face-of-huge-tragedy-goes-viral-181511796.html

Comments
  1. Harley says:

    What a heart warming and faith inspiring story. Even in the darkest times God is still God and we can trust Him. This reminds me of the story of Corrie Ten Boom.

Leave a Reply

